Skip to content
February 10, 2011 / Claremont Art Events

Claremont Graduate Student MFA Thesis Exhibitions: Erin Payne

Claremont Graduate School art students are having art thesis exhibitions at the East and Peggy Phelps Galleries on CGU campus. I hesitated to put this on my blog because I didn’t know what to expect, and then I went to my first exhibit this week and saw Erin Payne’s work and thought it was great. She’s made an Antarctic diorama a la Natural History Museum and photographed it in various Southern California locations. They feel like intimate portraits that you might take of a family member on vacation, except with a giant diorama instead of a relative and they’re posed in front of empty roads, out in the desert, and partially submerged in creeks or rivers. The images won’t leave my mind. Her exhibition only runs until Friday the 11th, but then another couple of students get to put up their recent work. It’s worth stopping by every week to see what’s new. Remember, CGU art department has graduated many influential artists in the contemporary scene and this is kind of like our own local opportunity to see the early works for this generation.

I hope Erin doesn’t mind that I’m using one of the pictures from her personal website for the photo. She’s also got a great blog where you can see some of her backyard projects: http://backyardbirdlab.blogspot.com/. I love the bejewelled bird feeders/altars. I might copy that.

Leave a Reply

